Kane County Case Search
SEARCHING FOR INFORMATION ON YOUR COURT CASE IN KANE COUNTY
CAN I GET A DRIVING PERMIT AFTER A DUI SUSPENSION
HOW DO I KNOW IF I AM ELIGIBLE FOR AN MDDP PERMIT AFTER A D.U.I. ARREST
How does a DUI Arrest affect my Commercial Driver’s License (“CDL”)
Most people in Illinois arrested for a Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (“DUI”) will have their privilege to drive suspended. Some may be eligible to get a permit to drive during this period.
Either you or your attorney will have to apply for a permit, it is not automatic.
A “first offender” for D.U.I. is entitled to obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit or “MDDP”
If you have a commercial driver’s licence (“CDL”) the impact of any traffic violation or D.U.I. will have a much different effect on you than someone with a regular license. If you have a CDL you should immediately contact the Russo Law Offices for advice on how to try and preserve your CDL privileges.
Under the current rules as applied to these permits you are a “first offender” if this is actually your first D.U.I. arrest or if you have not had D.U.I. arrest or DUI suspension for at least 5 years.
You may be deemed NOT ELIGIBLE if any of the following describe your circumstances:
1) You are under 18 years old
2) You have a prior conviction for Reckless Homicide or Aggravated D.U.I. involving a death
3) You are already suspended or revoke for some other reason
4) The current case alleges that you caused death or Great Bodily Harm to another.
After a DUI arrest you should receive several notices and forms from the Illinois Secretary of State. Prompt and informed attention to these notices is important to protect your driving privileges. You can call Russo Law Office for an prompt evaluation of your circumstances.
You can also click this link https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/baiidpub.html to see the current forms that the Secretary of State will send to the address on your driver’s license. Please note in the link there to forms that apply to Cook County specifically and forms that are used for the rest of the state. Be sure you choose the correct forms to apply for your MDDP.
It is important that you always keep the Secretary of State notified of any change of address because that is your responsibility and in the event the Secretary of State needs to contact you or notify you of any changes to your status they are only required to send notice to the last address you gave them.
An “MDDP” will allow you to drive 24 hours a day 7 days a week for any purpose not just to get to and from work. You will have to pay the fees paid for and receive your permit from the Secretary of State then have had an approved device installed in your vehicle.
Your permit will allow you only to legally drive your car which is equipped with the breath device.
If you also need to drive a work vehicle for work, you can request permission for that also on the forms you will receive. The staff and lawyers at Russo Law Office can assist you with the entire process.
These issues will NOT be dealt with in court and will be solely your responsibility if you wish to be able to drive during a statutory summary suspension.
If you would like help learning more about your charges and your eligibility for this permit contact the Russo Law Offices today so we can help you keep your driving privileges intact.
The information contained herein is believed accurate at the time of original publication. But this publication should not be deemed legal advice nor relied upon as the current law and/or legal authority in the subject matter reviewed. You should contact an attorney for a formal legal opinion and/or before relying upon any information contained herein. The law is constantly changing and evolving. The content of this article or review is copy righted and the exclusive property of Russo Law Offices and shall not be reproduced or used in any manner without the written permission of Russo Law Offices.